Daira – Itni Jurrat? (Full Album) ‘Itni Jurrat?’ is the third full-length album by Mumbai, India’s Rock / Avant-Garde band Daira. It was released in 2018. Daira is a high energy Hindi ‘Art-Rock’ band that fuses elements of alternative rock with a prog flair. Daira consists of a core quartet which includes the lead vocalist, lyricist and multi-instrumentalist, Piyush Kapoor, guitarists Vikalp Sharma and Shivam Pant and Pratik Kulgod on the drums. The album that was mixed, mastered and co-produced by the famous Serbian producer/engineer Vojislav Aralica, is a nihilistic and self-destructive meditation on the human condition from start to finish filled with wild, unpredictable instrumentation which is only accentuated by Piyush’s raspy growls.

We are air-dropped into the total banger ‘Bhookamp’, a track featuring passionate vocals about Orwellian themes of the nature of truth that are layered over a groovy bass over unrelenting percussion which follows the lead guitar to powerful effect. The drumming throughout the record stands out consistently due to its powerful presence and unwavering creativity. The track is marked by the steady rise in intensity and tempo, as it finishes off with a very passionate guitar solo. There is a sudden shift in tone with ‘Mahaul’, as it starts off with a plucky bassline and a curious blend of prog rock, funk and an overall salsa vibe. The track also features energetic drums and a catchy chorus which lead to an ethereal and grandiose finale marked by electronic blemishes over a hypnotic bass. Lyrically, the song deals with self-loathing and isolation, almost to the point of being self-destructive.

The band is at its best when it sticks to its powerful and animalistic guns. The track ‘Mazedaar’ is a notable example with its electrifying chorus, layered over an effective set of instrumentation. It might sound like an everyday pick-me-up party song but features lyrics that endorse living wild and chaotic lives and calls out those who are too overcome with greed to live in the present. The track ‘Raat ka Kinaara’ is the high point of the album. An arena rock song with powerful vocals set on top of a soulful and plucky bassline, it features an unpredictable instrumental passage which bounces between bass and guitar, with a jazzy intermission. ‘Mazedaar’ finally explodes into this incredibly vibrant and awe-inspiring chorus and is one of those tracks that can quickly put entire stadiums in a trance as you relinquish all control and are swept away for an interstellar odyssey.

Jazzy instrumental licks with plucky basslines are aplenty throughout the record in tracks like ‘Sahaafi’, which is an intense banger with a groovy instrumental interlude featuring eerie synths in the background, eventually leading into a wild finale. Like the rest of the record, the track is dark, nihilistic and is a meditation on the transient nature of existence. Overall, the album spares no expense at being a dark and pessimistic outlook on the human condition. Daira justifies its reputation of being a wild and energetic band with a very respectable boldness and drive to experiment.

Review by SHANTANU SAMPATH https://ahummingheart.com/reviews/itni-jurrat-dark-and-wild-chapter-in-dairas-discography/

1. Bhookamp – 0:00
2. Mahaul – 6:24
3. Mazedaar – 11:25
4. Raat Ka Kinaara – 17:24
5. Ailaan – 23:47
6. Lailaaj – 33:25
7. Poshaaq – 40:15
8. Sahaafi – 48:45
9. Outro – 56:10

Support Daira by purchasing the album here https://daira.bandcamp.com/album/itni-jurrat

You can find the band on social media here:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dairaindia/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxBgcG3zRxFC6nvlGRiErvQ
Twitter: https://twitter.com/dairaindia
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dairaindia/

Become a Patron to get the new SMOD upload list! Every upload in the history of the channel in one alphabetized document. Nearly 2,000 albums with bandcamp links included! https://www.patreon.com/MeadowOfDoom

Join the SMOD Nation Facebook Group! https://www.facebook.com/groups/188446978378035/

Go to Source

Hits: 0


I am just a bot on here gathering posts for you all to enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

Close Panel