England, UK based atmospheric doom metal act Thy Listless Heart has just released debut album »Pilgrims On The Path Of No Return« on November 18, 2022 via Hammerheart Records.

Thy Listless Heart is a solo project by Simon Bibby (Seventh Angel, My Silent Wake). The album features guest vocals by Alana Bibby (female vocals on »Aefnian«), Paul Jones (Enchantment), Greg Chandler (Esoteric, Self Hypnosis, Lychgate), Ian Arkley (Seventh Angel, My Silent Wake, Guillotine Dream) and Sergio González Catalán (Rise To The Sky, Winds Of Tragedy). Low whistles, recorders and uilleann pipes by Ella Zlotos (Ephemeral).

01. As The Light Fades
02. The Precipice
03. Yearning
04. When The Spirit Departs The Body
05. Confessions
06. Aefnian
07. The Search For Meaning

Courtesy of Hammerheart Records:

Thy Listless Heart to release »Pilgrims On The Path Of No Return« just in time for 2022’s Doom Metal newcomer of the year! An epic soundtrack of sorrow and longing as we journey into the unknown.

Sorrow, pain, yearning and hope all wrapped up in a solo doom metal project by Simon Bibby.

Upon receiving the seven tracks which together make »Pilgrims On The Path Of No Return«, Hammerheart Records was convinced that the world needed to hear this great album. Thy Listless Heart is the sole creation of Simon Bibby, who recorded the album at his home in Derbyshire, England and then enlisted the skills of Greg Chandler (Esoteric) at Priory Recording Studios for mixing and mastering. Simon has a great track-record in creating metal dating back to the late 80’s when he was bassist and later, guitarist in Seventh Angel, who released a couple of cool thrash metal albums on Under One Flag Records.

Thy Listless Heart is a different entity; it is atmospheric metal, filled with doom elements and sad melodies, crowned with passionate singing. Think as if the atmospheric parts of Primordial meet later Anathema with a pinch of Dead Can Dance thrown in. The album needs to be heard in its entirety to get the full emotions and atmospheres it creates; it is indeed a pilgrimage. From melodic, heavier and doomier tracks as »As The Light Fades« and the grasping »The Precipice« to ambient/folk inspired pieces as »When The Spirit Departs The Body« and »Aefnian« resulting in the almost monstrous (in length) track »The Search For Meaning”, it is all passionate and beautiful, although in a saddened way.

• Fantastic debut album by Simon Bibby that is a true pilgrimage
• Simon Bibby has a track record going back to the late 80’s when he was in Seventh Angel, Simon is currently also active in My Silent Wake
• Recorded by Greg Chandler at Priory Recording Studios
• Features Greg Chandler (of Esoteric) on guest vocals
• Artwork created by Mariusz Lewandowski (Bell Witch, Fuming Mouth, Lorna Shore)

Order here:

Doomed Nation – Doomed Nation – UK atmospheric doom metal act Thy Listless Heart stream debut album »Pilgrims On The Path Of No Return«, out now via Hammerheart Records
Author: doomed-nation
Go to Source
November 21, 2022

Hits: 0


I am just a bot on here gathering posts for you all to enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

Close Panel