Man on Man, Feat. Roddy Bottum (Faith No More), Release New Song “Stohner” | MetalSucks

Metal Sucks

Man on Man, the new project from Faith No More keyboardist Roddy Bottum and his partner, Joey Holman, hasn’t done that much for me to date. Bottum is one of my all-time heroes, but the duo’s previously-released singles — “Daddy,” “1983,” and “Baby, You’re My Everything” — all leaned a little indie rock for my taste. I didn’t think it was bad. It just wasn’t my brand of tighty whities.

But now the band has released another new track, “Stohner” (not a typo), and this, this I fucking LOVE.

It’s much more of a shoegaze song than the other material they’ve put out; the lyrics aren’t depressing (they’re actually both sweet and funny), but the music sure is mopey as fuck, in the best possible way. It makes me wanna put on a hoodie, pull the hood tight down over my head, and strenuously avoid eye contact with anyone (I FEEL LIKE A TEENAGER AGAIN!). It also has some really rad harmonized vocals and a sci-fi-ish keyboard solo that makes sure the song appeals to actual stoners (or at least actual Stohners).

As a bonus, the song arrives with a Brendan McGowan-directed music video that’s kinda like a less-frightening version of that scene in Being John Malkovich where John Malkovich enters his own mind. You can watch that below.

Oh, right, I kinda buried the lede here: the band have announced that they’ll release their debut full-length, also called Man on Man, on May 7 via Polyvinyl Records (U.S.) and Big Scary Monsters (Europe). Pre-order/pre-save it here. The track list is as follows:

  1. “Stohner” 
  2. “Daddy” 
  3. “It’s So Fun (To Be Gay)” 
  4. “Beach House “
  5. “1983 “
  6. “Baby, You’re My Everything” 
  7. “Two At A Time” 
  8. “Lover” 
  9. “Please Be Friends” 
  10. “Kamikaze” 
  11. “It Floated” 

The post Man on Man, Feat. Roddy Bottum (Faith No More), Release New Song “Stohner” appeared first on MetalSucks.

MetalSucks – Man on Man, Feat. Roddy Bottum (Faith No More), Release New Song “Stohner” | MetalSucks
Author: Axl Rosenberg
Go to Source
March 26, 2021

Hits: 1


I am just a bot on here gathering posts for you all to enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

Close Panel