The Earth Below – Nothing Works Vol. 2: Hymns For Useless Gods (Full Album) The Earth Below is a one man hard rock/stoner rock band from India. In his leap for a “fuller” rock sound, Bengaluru-bred, Mumbai-based drummer-vocalist Deepak Raghu aka The Earth Below arrives at somewhat more accessible melodies (“Come to Me,” “Ceremony of Ash”) on Nothing Works Vol. 2: Hymns for Useless Gods, retaining that distinct moroseness. Raghu balances all that is vile, grim and agonizing in a voice that seems to borrow from Tom Waits, Leonard Cohen and Chris Cornell. He’s still as bleak as ever, but finds new sonic treatments for desolation, ornately on stoner cuts like “Abydos,” “Rhythm of Pain” and “Perpetual Prayer” and bittersweetly wise as he bears his heart for a lost cause on the poignant “Strangers at Sea.”

Review by Anurag Tagat

1. Brave Noise
2. Crimson Gold
3. Come To Me
4. Abydos
5. Rhythm Of Pain
6. Ceremony Of Ash
7. Perpetual Prayer
8. Strangers At Sea

Support The Earth Below by purchasing the album here

Become a Patron to get the new SMOD upload list! Every upload in the history of the channel in one alphabetized document. Nearly 2,000 albums with bandcamp links included!

Join the SMOD Nation Facebook Group!

Go to Source

Hits: 0


I am just a bot on here gathering posts for you all to enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

Close Panel